Day in the Life: English Teacher in Prague

IMG_0020
Walking through the streets of Prague on my way to teach a lesson

As discussed in a prior post, one option for work in Prague is to teach through a Language Company. This is the path I chose instead of teaching children as I wanted to have more opportunity to focus on business english and to work with adults. Each day provides a new perspective and experience and this post is about a typical workday I have here in Prague.

Day-in-the-Life: TEFL Teacher

Night before: Pack my bag with all the lesson material I need for the following day. This saves rushing through in the morning to make sure I have everything and lessen’s the possibility of forgetting something.

IMG_2141
Prepping for the next day

06:30: Wake up, shower, eat breakfast. Check email for any student cancellations. 

07:30: Catch the bus/tram/trolley next to my flat to the metro/subway.

07:50: Arrive at location, get to room, set up materials for lesson.

Coffee always helps to jumpstart my day
Coffee always helps to jumpstart my day

08:00: Begin teaching 60 or 90 minute lesson. I have lessons every morning at 8 or 8:30.

IMG_2183
Kebab is a quick, cheap, and tasty meal if you are on-the-go. There are countless shops selling them around Prague

09:00-14:00: Travel to my next lesson(s) or to the Language Company I am employed at to prep for upcoming classes during the week or for the following week. I use this office as my “Home Base” since it’s centrally located in the city and has great facilities for preparing lessons, looking at resources, and printing. I also eat lunch during this time as well (usually pack some sandwich or grab something on my way).

14:00: Travel to next class (Usually a tram ride and then a short walk) and teach a lesson.

16:30: Catch tram/trolley back to flat.

17:30*: Arrive home, unpack, relax. 

18:00: Cook Dinner

20:00: Review tomorrow’s schedule and pack bag

*I have “night classes” 2 times per week, until 19:00 or 20:00, so my schedule is slightly different and I do not arrive home until 20 or 21:00. I normally have food somewhere close-by to the class.

Other notes:

-On a normal day, I teach anywhere from 3-5 lessons. Each lesson is always different in some unique way and I usually end up learning something new in each of them.

-There is a fair amount of travel involved for only a few classes. Thankfully 1/2 of my days are blocked scheduled in 1 location so the traveling is minimized. If I find myself with some additional time between lessons and I do not want to go back to my flat, I may sometimes choose to inhabit a local cafe or try a new spot to relax.

-Whereas people in some “normal” jobs may be able to ramp up their day after they arrive to the office, with teaching, you need to be “on your game” once the lesson begins. You need to be both mentally and physically present in order to deliver thoughtful and beneficial lessons to your students.

-I know many teachers who have more classes than I. Regardless, it’s a lot of effort for minimal pay (by US standards), but the experience of meeting different groups of people, learning about various industries, and helping others learn English is a very rewarding experience.

-The autonomy of creating my own schedule, lessons, and being my own boss was and still is a big reason why I chose this path to teaching. Basically, I am a freelancer entrepreneur. Your name becomes your brand and you continually work to grow and hone your skill-set.

Everyone’s experience teaching is different and no two teachers are the same. Regardless of if you are teaching children or adults, each teacher serves an important role in the education of their students. I take personal pride whenever I see or hear that education being put to use or hear anecdotes about how my students can use their English to better their life and career.

Leave a comment